If you right click a track label and choose clear data, the pop-up indicates that the visible data will be removed. This implies that the current view region is all that will be removed. But it clears the entire chromosome. It looks like it does not clear all the data for that track, just that chromosome.
I think we should either modify the message so it is not misleading, or modify the method so it matches the message.